The Writing Room

Both of my mother’s children have moved out of the house. College has swept us away and left her with space for a writing office.

Her bookshelf is stacked with fantasy, science fiction, and thrillers. Classics like Thoreau, Bradbury, and Tolkien – and her ever favorite Koontz.

Little figurines hold their silent stance, crafted from the same world of imagination that my mother dips into.

Her most recent published piece of writing is a novella about a watchful and compassionate gargoyle. This statue and a few books accompanied the journey from draft to final product.

The Tree of Life hangs over my mother’s desk; a symbol stemming from several fields of study. We are all connected through creation and renewal.

The Green Man, a face of leaves, can also be a motif for renewal. I bought him as a gift from The Crystal Wizard. On the same trip, my mother bought me a lovely Lotus flower incense burner. It sits by my Buddha statue on a shelf in the living room.

This is one of my favorite candle holders.

How have you created a space for yourself? What do you use it for?

6 thoughts on “The Writing Room

  1. My writing office is a loft at the top of the stairs. It’s a small area that lets me see and hear everything that’s going on in the house—my perch in the tree. It’s a basic space. I didn’t spend years or even hours dreaming of what it would look like. I wrote my first novel in the living room of a small apartment over a bakery where I shared the couch with my husband and nightly ESPN marathons. Pre-Wi-Fi, I had all kinds of Ethernet cables choking me while I balanced my laptop on my knees and tried to ignore the roar of stadium crowds. So when we moved to El Paso, having any quiet area to call my own was a luxury.

Share your thoughts:

