THINKIES & THOUGHTIES: Question 8

thinkiesandthoughtiesQuestion 8: Do you feel gratitude or envy more often? What are you most grateful or envious of?

Due Date: Friday, February 28

Ever since I can remember, I’ve wavered between feeling extremely grateful for being who I am and having the life that I do, feeling discouraged about where my life is headed, and enjoying making others jealous. I never thought about this last one being caused by envy, but it very well could be.

I’m most grateful for my personality. Although I struggle with social awkwardness from time to time, empathy for others leads me in enriching directions. I analyze situations as best I can before acting, leaving more room for success and less for failure. Above all, I’m eager to question what I think to be true – even if it scares me at first – and enjoy the times I’m wrong and learn something new.

Yeah, the majority of the time, I’m my own biggest fan.

But, I’m easily discouraged. This happens about once every two to three months. I feel as if everything is going wrong and I can’t fix it. I can usually sleep it off and feel better in the morning, but other times, I fester, and fester a lot.

These two personality traits probably fueled my desire to make people jealous.

Negative opinions about yourself or others are toxic and should be worked through and resolved. This is easier said than done, but effort toward a better you is never wasted. Ever since realizing about the jealousy thing a few years ago, I’m able to catch myself and stop. I ask, “Would you still do this if no one was paying attention?” and if I say no, I talk myself out of doing it. It feels much better, that’s for sure.

 
View Jennifer’s answer to Question 7

View All Questions

 
Thinkies & Thoughties is inspired by The Book of Questions by Doctor Gregory Stock. Grab a cup of coffee — or something a little stronger — and sit down, open up, and share yourself every Friday.

You are welcome to share your answer in a comment here, or grab a button for your own blog post. Don’t forget to comment with a link to your answer.

4 thoughts on “THINKIES & THOUGHTIES: Question 8

  1. I never forget a kindness, whether it be by a person or simply by good fortune. Gratitude is something I consciously feed as often as I can remember to do so. It does wonders for keeping a person happy and kind.

    I think I’m most grateful for camaraderie. (That’s a difficult thing to be sure of though.) Whether we’ve shared in a passing courtesy, had roles in a team together, or been friends for years, I appreciate it and think on it from time to time.

  2. I think I’ve reached a point in my life where I’m not envious of anyone. I understand that there will always be people better off, but also less fortunate, than I am, and that’s how life is.
    On the other hand, I have more things to be grateful for than I could possibly name. but at this precise moment, I realize I’m very grateful for the online friends I’ve made. Sure, it’s not the same as being face to face with someone, but the internet has given me the opportunity to connect with people who have the same interests I do, and I treasure that.

    • I’m glad you have such a large group of friends. They are few and far between since deep connections take a while to form. I bet you could find more people like that in your community too, but you would have to leave the house and find them!

Share your thoughts:

