THINKIES & THOUGHTIES: Question 13

thinkiesandthoughtiesQuestion 13: If you were to die tonight without an opportunity to communicate with anyone, what would you most regret not telling someone? What good might come out of telling them now?

My nobility struck flawless on the outside; a trait of the great Samaritan.

Perfect sentences. That is what I remember. Delicious tension and perfect sentences.

And we plunged; we plunged without considering I might betray you.

The warrior you fell for used you. Back then, I was invested more in myself than in you. I needed it to be your fault more than I wanted you to heal. I failed to really listen, but I never failed to hear myself. I was in love with my own heart and my own end. Even when I fell on my sword, the great fall left me exactly where I desired to be. I foresee the champion who emerged from that darkness.

I may have doubted my strength during those days, but it has never been in my nature to be defeated.

It was always in yours.

Did I drive you further to your downfall?

Maybe that wasn’t my fault. Maybe I just want credit for whatever end you meet.

Because manipulating you, my solider, is the best thing that ever happened to me.

And thus, I remain the champion, but never the knight.


If I were to confess this in person, I imagine the recipient would say, “I know.”

 
View Jennifer’s answer to Question 12

View All Questions

 
Thinkies & Thoughties is inspired by The Book of Questions by Doctor Gregory Stock. Grab a cup of coffee — or something a little stronger — and sit down, open up, and share yourself every Friday.

You are welcome to share your answer in a comment here, or on your own blog.
Don’t forget to comment here with a link to your answer!

Share your thoughts:

