THINKIES & THOUGHTIES: Question 16

thinkiesandthoughtiesQuestion 16: What could someone determine about you by the friends you keep?

My closest friends typically have mental illness. This isn’t usually disclosed to me while we’re getting to know each other, so it must be something I unconsciously pick up on. I’m sure this plays into my need (which is a lot less prominent in my life as of the last 6 years) to be a savior of sorts. Most of my friends are also a blend of sarcasm and social awkwardness. I’m attracted to self-consciousness. I would say that, sometimes, people hang around socially awkward people or those who are insecure in order to appear the most sound in the group. I don’t think I have ever done this – I actually enjoy showing off the friends I keep. This is exactly why I post so many photos on Facebook: I like to show off my life. Anyway, that is beside the point of this question. The friends I have can tell you that I enjoy being respected and valued, but that I also enjoy being teased and made to feel uncomfortable from time to time. I enjoy occasional tension and festering (again, I’ve pretty much mastered dealing with this in a healthy fashion).

 
View Jennifer’s answer to Question 15

View All Questions

 
Thinkies & Thoughties is inspired by The Book of Questions by Doctor Gregory Stock. Grab a cup of coffee — or something a little stronger — and sit down, open up, and share yourself every Friday.

You are welcome to share your answer in a comment here, or on your own blog.
Don’t forget to comment here with a link to your answer!

3 thoughts on “THINKIES & THOUGHTIES: Question 16

  1. My first instinct here is to make a joke, but I’ll try the sincere approach instead. I don’t really like people. It’s taken me a long time to find people that I actually enjoy spending time with and even seek out in my free time. I suppose someone could determine that I prefer quality over quantity.

Share your thoughts:

