The Family Tree: The Roots

I leafed through old photographs over the weekend. I grew up in the city and surrounded by a forest. Up the street took us to socialize while the forest led to adventure. Within this forest, my best friend and I waded through a creek and climbed into tall trees. This is where I filmed Star Leet episodes (a mini-series based on Star Trek) and a ghost movie in a drainage tunnel. After visiting the butterfly gardens in Portland, I re-created a tour in our forest. This is where my best friend and I caught a bullfrog and handfuls of newts.

For almost a decade, this was my world.

Entrance

And to the right of the red bench (which my father built) where the sunshine pours from the trees: my entrance.

Share your thoughts:

